I Think This is a Man Thing

Ladies, back me up on this. Bruce from Lake Stevens sent in his shame-ber submission, and I have to say that my first reaction was “only a man would do this.”

I would like to add to the shame-ber a sad, shameful “treat.” I will regularly be so lazy that I can’t even make a grilled cheese sandwich the old fashioned way. Now, even regular grilled cheese is not the most glamorous meal… but here is the shame-ber recipe.

Two pieces of bread

Two slices of Kraft American Cheese Food

Place slices between bread (no condiments at all)

Place sandwich on plate.

Microwave for 25 seconds.

Eat.

That’s it.

Indefensible…. And shameful.

I have known many men who will eat a cold piece of bread right out of the fridge or a plain tortilla and call it a meal. What is up with that? Bruce, at least you are sticking it in the microwave for 25 seconds, but still….. that’s hella janky.

OK, now I will climb down from my shame-ber stallion.

7 Comments

Filed under The Shame-ber

7 responses to “I Think This is a Man Thing

  1. CoreyJ

    “The cold quesadilla” (read: uncooked) is my late night shame. I cannot help myself.

  2. jillian.

    I am humiliated to say that the whole plain bread/tortilla thing is not just a man thing. I, too, am guilty as charged.

  3. Robin

    I guess I’d rather take the extra 2 minutes to toast the bread and spread some butter on it (or non-dairy buttery spread, as I am a lactard)…. but I am very particular. I don’t think I’d do well in any sort of survival/Thunderdome situation.

  4. Ruby

    I don’t want to live in a world where people need to apologize for generalizations on the radio. Old Tom L. said it best, “it’s called broadcasting for a reason!1/2”

  5. April aka InspectorLuv aka Fugly

    I used to make those when I was a kid, but with cheddar… is cheddar too upscale for the Shame-ber? I would also eat leftover frosting straight out of the Betty Crocker tub. I haven’t engaged in these activities as an adult, but they are in the Shame-ber of my mind along with other childhood Shame-ber material.

  6. pek-a-lex

    I am carb-phobic enough that a tortilla microwaved for 30 seconds is totally decadent! it is so soft and yummy, and gone before displaying the awful stiffness of microwaved bread products

  7. Larry the Aber-Ten

    I am so glad I’m not the only person who does that. I just find it quick and yummy…and a little shameful. Kinda like eating Chef Boyardee from the can cold.

Leave a Reply

